54. In summer!

54. In summer!

The weather has turned around, the grass really is greener (as well as the bushes and trees), and driving the windy roads with the windows down happens daily.  I suddenly remember why I love New England as much as I do.  I store the winter blues back in the deepest, blackest hole of my memory.

It’s officially summer.  Customers in my store have started to complain about the heat and humidity, and I can’t help but think about Florida.  My allergies would be suffering tremendously by now.  The humidity would be clogging my nasal passage making me feel incredibly stuffed up.  (I’m not actually sure that’s a “thing” but I’m sticking to it.)  And I would find every excuse to stay inside to avoid the excessive heat.  Spending an afternoon at Disney felt more like torture than bliss.  I can’t remember a summer day when i didn’t dread leaving the controlled atmosphere of my air conditioned dwelling, let alone look forward to spending the day in the sweltering, abrasive sun.  It’s safe to say that in Florida, I never truly experienced summer; I avoided it.

This summer feels different in every way.  I want to bask in the light of summer days whenever possible.  I spend my work breaks reading outside, I roll the windows down when I cruise, and I look for any outdoor activity to do on a day off.  All I need now are bonfires and fireflies for summer to reach utopia.

Perhaps what I enjoy most about this weather is driving down back roads with the windows open.  Fresh air can be soothing for the soul.  Combine that with blaring country music and I’m a happy girl.  I seem to forget my troubles.  Sometimes I consider searching for jobs in New York City, but then I realize I would lose my happy place by not having a car and the open road.  Funny thing, I sometimes feel as if I’m a lyric in a country song just by doing what I enjoy.  When I extend my arm out the window to scoop up the wind, I’m cruising with Florida-Georgia Line.  I do blast my music because somehow the louder, the more freeing.

My cousins and I rented a cottage in the Cape earlier this month.  The temperature hadn’t quite reached optimal degrees for the ocean, but we were able to take advantage of our backyard beach a few days.  We took a two hour bike ride down the Cape Cod Rail Trail, watched a movie at a drive-in, and frequented a quaint ice cream shop I suspect is only open during tourist season.  We partook in a simpler life by enjoying what June on the Cape had to offer.

Cousins
Cousins
Best ice cream on the Cape!
Best ice cream on the Cape!
biking the Rail Trail
biking the Rail Trail

This is how summer should feel. It should be embraced and enjoyed.  Not loathed.  I don’t miss the daily afternoon thunderstorms of Orlando.  Then again, the skies have been overly agreeable lately in Massachusetts.  Maybe Mother Nature apologizes for the harsh winter.  Maybe the gray clouds just haven’t rolled in yet.  Whatever the reason, summer seems to be smiling down on the North East thus far.

 Found on geniusquotes.net
Found on geniusquotes.net

I’m aware that up here the temperatures can rise higher than in Florida, but I’ll cross that bridge when I reach it.  In the meantime, I’ll continue to find happiness in the simple joys of the warm months.  I’ll run a half marathon at my college campus, visit a lake house, enjoy outdoor concerts, and spend time chatting with friends in their backyards.  For the first time in forever, I’ll be enjoying my time spent outdoors in the heat of summer.

It looks like Olaf and I have more in common than humorous facial expressions and loyalty.  We share a love of summer without ever really having experienced it in the past.

54. In Summer! – “In Summer” from the Disney animated movie Frozen.

Leave a Reply

