53. You’re like the maid of dishonor

53. You’re like the maid of dishonor

Wedding season.  When is it again?  It doesn’t matter when you’re part of the bridal party.  Then, wedding season is every season.  From trying on dresses early in the game, to planning parties and showers, a bridesmaid has duties that other party goers do not.  Their wedding season starts right when the bride asks them to have her back.  It’s not always as glamorous as in Bridesmaids (think the bridal shower with puppies as parties gifts), nor as complicated as in 27 Dresses (no one in their right mind would pull a same day double wedding duty).  But it is definitely a job for people who enjoy planning and being involved.

I’ve attended quite a few weddings since I graduated college, most of which took place in Massachusetts while I lived in Florida.  I tried to partake in as many activities as possible because these were my good friends, but usually it only amounted to the bridal shower and ceremony.  When I was a selected as a bridesmaid, I couldn’t be fully hands on in the natural duties of a maid.  I never helped plan the showers or bachelorette parties.  I couldn’t try on dresses with the other ladies, or offer suggestions wherever needed.  However appreciative I was to be in the bridal party, I was merely a body to be used at the ceremony.  I wouldn’t trade those experiences for anything; I just wish I could have done more.

Up until last year when my friend (and neighbor), Julie, was planning her wedding, I had never seen the inner workings of pending nuptials.  Being that she lived a block away, I was then involved in every single aspect of bridal party planning plus some.  I finally felt able to live up to the full expectations of bridesmaid.

This year, I’m back out of the wedding party loop, but this time my destination has swapped.  I’m now in Massachusetts and the weddings are all in Florida.  (How’s that for timing?)  I’ll help as much as I can from afar but I know I can’t be all in like last time due to distance alone.

You know what’s been different about this particular long distance maidship?  Technology.  Today was dress shopping day for Katie’s bridesmaids and, since I couldn’t be there in person, they used FaceTime to include me in the dress choosing process!  Technology still has its flaws though.  The battery on one of our phones died so I currently don’t know the verdict.  Ah well!  In the future, I’m sure I’ll be able to teleport to any activities I’m missing.

In the meantime, I’ll don my best “Katherine Heigl in 27 Dresses” impression from a distance.  Speaking of, how many dresses are in my closet now? Ah yes, soon to be six.  I’m on my way, Katherine.

julie meg 53.  You’re like the maid of dishonor – Bridesmaids

Leave a Reply

