52. Did you miss me?

52. Did you miss me?

I bet you’re wondering where I’ve been and what’s been going on in my life.  Humor me if you haven’t.  Well, to ease your curious minds, I will gladly tell you.

I spent a month working two jobs, both in retail.  When i realized that one of those jobs was slightly too sales-y for me, I decided to stay on only for the monthly floor resets and concentrate solely on my job in athletic apparel.  During that month, I worked nearly three weeks without a single day off, and when I did have a free day, it was about one day off within that month.  Too say I ran out of fuel would be an understatement.  Retail isn’t strenuous, but you’re always dealing with the public.  If you’re having a bad day, you can’t show it.  If you’re sick or tired, you can’t sit down whenever you want.  Even though I wasn’t working even a full 40 hour week, my brain needed time to turn off.

Since I decided to stick to only one job, I asked to not be scheduled on Fridays.  This gives me the opportunity to do things I may have neglected including writing and hunting for REAL jobs.  While I do enjoy being surrounded by runners and athletics, I need to continue to search for a big girl job.

What else have I been up to?  I’ve picked up a new hobby- hiking!  I lived in Massachusetts for four years and never hiked.  I’m getting it all in now because the future is fuzzy and I’m not sure where I’ll end up!

I started by visiting Concord, MA on Memorial Day.  I wanted to see the town before I headed to Walden Pond (yes, the Walden Pond made famous by Henry David Thoreau).  The town reminds me a lot of Celebration, FL in the sense that it’s community oriented.  When I arrived, they were setting up for the annual Memorial Day activities which involved a short parade and memorial service for lost military lives during wars.  Many members of the community walked into town for these services and then headed to the Market Cafe for lunch.

Concord, MA Memorial Day service
Concord, MA Memorial Day service

After watching the memorial service, I hopped back in my car and drove the couple miles  to Walden Pond.  Parking is only $5 for the day, which isn’t bad for the amount of time one can spend there.  Many visitors carried their picnics and chairs down to the pond’s beach, while I grabbed a trail map and began the trek around the pond.  I decided essentially to stick to the trail surrounding the pond.  I could have broke away to one of the others, but it looked like it might rain and I didn’t want to get lost in the woods!

Walden Pond
Walden Pond
the site of Thoreau's cabin
the site of Thoreau’s cabin

My easy trail-following hike at Walden Pond, left me wanting more.  The following day I didn’t work until 6pm so I decided to try a local trail at Wilson Mountain Reservation in Dedham, MA.  I followed the shorter path marked with red circles on the trees because, once again, it looked like rain.  This was more of a hike and less of a trail in the woods.  I loved it, but I decided to try and hike with other people from now on.  Being in the woods alone is kind of eery!

I joined a couple of hiking groups through the app Meetup.  I’ll likely be going on group hikes Sunday afternoon and Tuesday evening.  Maybe I should look into getting trail shoes if I’m going to keep taking advantage of the state parks nearby.

So now you know what I’ve been doing recently.  Next Saturday begins my week long Cape style vacation with the cousins.  I’m sure I’ll have plenty more adventures to share in the near future.  Until next week!

Leave a Reply

