50. And I would walk 500 miles, and I would walk 500 more

50. And I would walk 500 miles, and I would walk 500 more

I’ve always prided myself on having a keen sense of direction like my mom.  I remember directions based off landmarks and I can feel when I’m headed the right way.

Today, I attended a job fair at Fenway Park hosted by the Boston Red Sox.  Aside from driving into the city, I had two other options: take the T or take the Commuter Rail.  If I took the T, I would have to drive to the T stop and pay for parking on top of the train tickets.  There is a T station near Fenway so the commute on the train would be pretty short with almost no walk to event.  The other option, taking the Commuter Rail, would cost $1 more but I could walk to the train station from my house.  Once I arrived in Boston, I would then have about a 30-minute walk from the Back Bay station to Fenway.

I decided to take the Commuter Rail because I wanted to use my hour round trip walk as additional daily exercise (I walk at a very quick pace), and if I had time before the train home, i would head for a special treat in the city.

I’ve only been to Fenway twice in the last ten years so I’m not that familiar with the area, but I had a general sense of where I was going.  I added a little extra mileage walking to Fenway as I tried to avoid a road I didn’t trust.  It turns out, I had to take that way but it was actually perfectly safe and well traveled.

I did a bit of shmoozing, made a few connections, and decided I had spent enough time at Fenway.  By 1:45pm, I was on my way back towards the Back Bay.  The next train I would be able to make would be leaving around 3:00pm.  I decided that an hour and forty-five minutes was plenty of time for this fast walker to get from Fenway, to Faneuil Hall, to South Station.

I was making beautiful time!  By 2:10pm, I found myself completely out of Boston Commons at the corner of Beacon and Park.  It was there I made a fateful wrong turn.  I turned left when I should have kept straight.  I should’ve listened to my instincts.  I intended to head straight but at the last minute, crossed Beacon and headed left onto Bowdoin Street.

I ended up walking all the way down to the West End of Boston.  I somehow made a left onto Cambridge Street and a right on Blossom Street.  This is when I knew I was way off track… I passed Mass General Hospital and came to Charles Street.  Across the Charles River is Cambridge; this is no where near where I needed to be.  I was on the completely opposite side of town.  I couldn’t consult my phone’s GPS because, thanks to the frigid temps, my battery had died.  Yay me!  I was lost in Boston with no communication tools except some change in my pocket for a pay phone, if those even existed anymore.

Luckily, I do know the layout of the city pretty well so I knew the direction I needed to be heading.  I eventually found my way to TD Garden (home of the Celtics and Bruins) and then managed to get my sense of direction back in the game.  Not knowing what time it was because my phone died and I don’t wear a watch anymore, I decided there was no way I’d make the 3:00pm train anymore.  I figured the whole reason I became lost was because I was headed to Faneuil Hall for some damn chocolate chip cookies from The Chip Yard.  I wasn’t going to make my train so I might as well stop for some goodies before the next train left at 4:00pm.

Started at Fenway, was supposed to go to Faneuil Hall and then South Station (the blue train icon near Summer St).  Ended up in the West End near Mass Gen.
Started at Fenway, was supposed to go to Faneuil Hall and then South Station (the blue train icon near Summer St). Ended up in the West End near Mass Gen.

I bought my cookies, sans the banana chocolate chip (my favorite!) because they didn’t have any ready, and walked the route I was pretty sure would take me to South Station.  The fog clouding my sixth sense had definitely cleared when I made it to my destination by 3:15pm.  Sitting down for 45-minutes sounded absolutely amazing as you can imagine!  Thank God I chose practical footwear and not heals today.

On the train, my phone decided it was warm enough to turn on and I checked my email to find one from the Red Sox ticketing team.  Tonight’s game against the Rays would be postponed until tomorrow afternoon due to approaching inclement weather.  As heart-wretching as it is for me to miss my beloved Rays play ball, I’m pretty sure I had enough action for one day.  My evening in has allowed me to write this and rest up for my extremely long work day tomorrow.  And yes, I’m secretly hoping Red Sox cancel the double header tomorrow so that our game can be rescheduled for a future date… like way in the future so I can be sure to have the day off from work.

The only question that remains is why my brain all of sudden led me astray.  I’m blaming this well-fitted suit from the job fair.  The picture doesn’t even do him justice.  He was the best dressed person at the job fair and looked like a poster child for GQ rather than a wannabe Patriots employee.  I finally see why so many ladies like to see their guys dressed up in suits, but only if they wear it like Mr. GQ below.

My candid shot...
My candid shot…

Now, please excuse me while I go rest my feet after a long, unplanned walking tour of Boston.  Goodnight y’all!

50. And I would walk 500 miles, and I would walk 500 more – “I’m Gonna Be” by The Proclaimers

Leave a Reply

