44. You’ll realize one day that the grass is always greener on the other side.

44. You’ll realize one day that the grass is always greener on the other side.

Here’s what I’ve learned thus far since moving away from Florida.  I actually do miss it.  I’m glad I moved away to test out something new, but I miss the comforts of my home state.  I love the windy, narrow roads of the Northeast, but at night I’m very uncomfortable driving them.  I miss the wide, less worn out streets of Florida purely for my poor nighttime vision.  It was so easy driving home from World of Beer on Wednesday nights! (sober, people, I was sober!)

I miss wearing shorts and flip-flops.  I look at the temperatures up here versus down south and the difference is immense.  Even though I miss the warm weather clothes, I still prefer the crisp winter air.  I walk out of the house in 30-degree temperatures and feel invigorated.  While I’m as antsy for spring as anyone else in these parts, I’m grateful not to be suffocated by extreme heat and humidity in March.  Eighty degrees is too hot for winter.  Besides, the cold never bothered me anyways…

I miss good country music radio stations.  This part of Massachusetts has only one station and the quality is debatable.  The concert advertisements don’t peek my interest much because the venues just don’t feel very country.  Plus, it wouldn’t be the same without Emily or my Mom sitting by my side.  Maybe once summer makes an appearance I’ll feel more like throwing on my cowboy boots and hat.  In any case, in less than a month I will be on the beaches of Ft. Lauderdale listening to two straight days of country music with my mom.  Life is good.

Photo courtesy of jambands.com
Photo courtesy of jambands.com

I miss living on my own- obviously.  I’m an introvert and have no qualms about keeping quiet for a day or two if I need to clear my head.  Sometimes that escape from the world resets my clock.  It is nice to have company around though, people with whom to laugh at a joke or judge the contestants on The Voice.  But when I do retreat to my room, it’s because I just need me time.  You’re talking to someone who lived alone for the last 7+ years.  Alone time keeps my sanity in check.

And, of course, I miss my family and friends as foreseeable; although already having friends up here has made the transition a lot easier.  I even get to spend Easter with my surrogate family, the Seelley’s!  I’m so ready for this!

Everything has it’s Pros and Cons.  I’m absolutely thrilled I made this change.  I would have regretted it forever if I never stepped out of my comfort zone.  Will I stay here?  I’m not sure.  My northern life remains under construction.  I’m beginning to get more active outside of the house.  I can’t job hunt 24/7 anymore.  I have signed up for a free yoga class at a local running store and I’m heading into Boston next week for a new volunteer orientation.  If things don’t fall into place here, I will have no regrets.  And I know I can always move back to Florida, something I thought I would never say in a million years.  Believe me, if my friends and family weren’t in the Sunshine State, I wouldn’t return except for the occasional vacation.  But they are, and it makes calling Florida home a bit more bearable.  Don’t misunderstand me; I’m not running back just yet.  It’s only been a couple months.  There’s a lot more options I need to explore first, and my job hunt is not limited to just the Boston area or Massachusetts.  If you have any leads, just holler!  I’m all ears.

The grass may always seem greener on the other side, but you have to give all new opportunities a chance to flourish.  Grass can’t grow without a little tender, love, care, and, most importantly, time.

44. You’ll realize one day that the grass is always greener on the other side – “Side” by Randy Travis

One thought on “44. You’ll realize one day that the grass is always greener on the other side.

  1. So I feel the same way about Florida since I’ve moved out west here. I miss my family, friends, and comfort. We sadly don’t have that here, although we are slowly making friends. I don’t know if I’ll feel the comfort like I feel back home. And actually I miss the humidity but that’s because there is NONE here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

