40. This Princess wears running shoes

40. This Princess wears running shoes

Over a week ago I found myself roaming the Josten’s Center at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex with the warm fuzzies only a running expo can supply.  It’s here you realize you ARE a runner no matter your speed, size, or age.  As of yet, I’ve only been to an expo organized by Disney so I can’t compare to the outside world, but if you haven’t been to one and you run, what are you waiting for?

On race weekend there’s no need to worry if you forget any of your running gear at home.  The expo has a replacement waiting to be purchased.  You could buy an entirely new outfit from head to toe if you wanted.  Some of my favorite brands represented here are Sparkle Athletics (sequins skirts), One More Mile (quirky quotes on apparel and accessories), Sweaty Bands (headbands), and Raw Threads (Disney themed apparel).  You can also find after race necessities such as rolling sticks to work out kinks, medal hooks to display your bling, and future race event representation.

IMG_1200 IMG_1201

This year Disney introduced The Glass Slipper Challenge, which included a 10K on Saturday morning and a Half Marathon on Sunday morning.  If you completed both, you received the glass slipper medal.

We found our names on the Inaugural Glass Slipper Wall
We found our names on the Inaugural Glass Slipper Wall

IMG_1207

The course for both races mirrored that of the Dopey Challenge 10K and Half Marathon except the entertainment was a bit different.  I’m not one to pay much attention to my surroundings during a run, but I could tell that Frozen was the star of the weekend.  Elsa greeted us near mile one of the 10K and Let It Go blasted from the speakers during multiple stages of both runs.  Multiple Prince Charmings were waiting with a glass slipper for any princess willing to pose for a photo (I was not one of those eager fair maidens).  But you know what I did do?  I dressed up a running version of Elsa from both days!  I don’t normally dress up in themed running attire but I felt compelled to do so during a PRINCESS themed run.  And I wore a sparkly skirt.  Stop the presses.  That’s huge for me!  I’m such a no nonsense tomboy most days.

Hey look!  It's Elsa!
Hey look! It’s Elsa!

 

10K Elsa theme
10K Elsa theme

 

Rapunzel and Elsa on the morning of the Half Marathon
Rapunzel and Elsa on the morning of the Half Marathon

It’s hard to believe this time last week I laying on my couch relaxing after completing my second best half marathon time.  It’s even harder to believe that I don’t have another race on the books until Wine and Dine in November.  I’ve sent in my lottery registration for the Marine Corps Marathon for October, but I still have another few weeks until I hear whether or not I made it.  Fingers crossed!  I want to be running in Red, White, and Blue!

Leave a Reply

