36. As I lay me down to sleep

36. As I lay me down to sleep

I may be a morning person, but my favorite time of day is when I lay my head down to go to sleep.  That’s when my best ideas make their appearance.  I live to daydream.  I conjure up scenarios in my head during those precious moments between resting and REM.  I can’t tell you how many novel ideas I have stored away thanks to imagination overdrive in the quiet me time.

Sometimes, when my real life lacks desire, I look forward to bedtime right from the moment I awake.  Ok, that sounds a little depressing, but I look forward to my creativity kicking into motion.  I’ve written songs, designed t-shirts, and developed storylines all just before falling asleep.  That is my prime time.

I’ve been told that your thoughts just before falling asleep inspire your dreams.  If that were the case, my dreams would be filled with fairytale, chick book synopsis.  They very rarely are.  I saw John Goodman briefly on TV one afternoon and that night he appeared in my dream.  What the…?  I’ve been chased by man-eating jello molds bounding from an open refrigerator that emerged from a canal- on multiple occasions.  My dreams don’t often make sense but it doesn’t matter.  My best ideas have been committed to memory long before the dreams start flowing.

When do you get your best ideas?  Working out?  In the shower?  Under pressure

daydream

 

36. As I lay me down to sleep – “As I Lay Me Down to Sleep” by Sophie B. Hawkins

Leave a Reply

