10. Every time I hear that song, I go back.

10. Every time I hear that song, I go back.

To many people, music compliments life.  A song exists for whichever emotion you conjure up.  It heals.  It deepens love.  It breaks hearts.  It endures.  It strengthens.  It memorializes.  It freezes time.

Songs transport me back to moments whether through their lyrics or their significance.  I hear “I Will Remember You” by Sarah McLaughlan and I’m falling asleep to MTV with my best friend.  It was the last song I remember hearing that night, the night before she moved away.

I hear Toby Keith’s “Made in America” and I glance down at the Semper Fi tattoo on my left arm.  I smile knowing the song inspired this permanent reminder of my favorite Marine.

Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years” takes me back to the credits of the last Twilight movie and the final midnight premier with some of the greatest friends I’ve ever met.

Every single song on the mix CD I received for Christmas transports me back to each concert.  I just have to close my eyes and I see it all clearly.

Music makes my stoic heart feel.  For me, the emphasis lies in the lyrics of a song.  They strike my core before the beat, arrangement or tempo.  If a song has lousy lyrics, I’ll change the station immediately.  If you know anything about country music, you’ll find that I’ve titled many of my posts using lyrics, including this one (Kenny Chesney’s “I Go Back”).  Check out the youtube video below if you are not familiar with it.

I would be utterly lost without music.  I enjoy reliving the past through my mental scrapbook.  Fortunately, I don’t correlate many negative memories to songs so my journey through time often pertains to moments spent with friends and family.  I know I’m not the only person who stops in her tracks when a certain intro begins.  With each day lies the possibility of a new song gluing itself to a unmade memory.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to turn on the radio.

Leave a Reply

