7. I’m bound by routine and early mornings.

7. I’m bound by routine and early mornings.

I value routine and once I decided to quit my job, I feared separation from my daily schedule.  Wake, run, work, home, TV, bed.  Life was comfortable.  I knew what to expect.  I knew that at least five mornings a week, I would be running while everyone else lie dreaming.  Even on the weekends, I would rise before the sun because my internal alarm told me a new day had come.  When I saw Frozen for the first time, I chuckled when Anna said “the sky’s awake so I’m awake”.  That literally matches my personality and view of mornings.  Yes, I’m that irritating morning person who pops awake with vigor.

Though I would wake around five a.m. each morning, even on weekends, I always tried to get the recommended eight hours of sleep.  My body fell into bed exhausted between nine or ten p.m.  Then it would toss and turn all night before awaking to go running. I forgot what “well rested” felt like.  Despite the continuous eight hours of sleep a night, my eyes always felt heavy and my yawning grew incessant.

Since Friday night I have been going to sleep around midnight and waking around seven in the morning.  I’m accumulating less sleep than usual but the seven hours are deeper and uninterrupted.  My body no longer longs to lie on the couch in defeat at the end of the day.  I have to force myself to go to bed at midnight instead of staying up to work on projects because I’m just not tired.  I may not need to be awake early, but I still prefer it.  I enjoy my morning runs when the sun is fresh in the sky.  I don’t like feeling as if the day has passed me by.  Early mornings are my “me” time.

I’m learning I had nothing to fear losing my schedule.  Yes, my routine has completely changed.  I don’t have a routine.  Once I start my life in Boston, I may gain one again.  Until then I’m going to go with the flow.  I’ll continue to wake early, run, and sleep, but everything in between is up for grabs.  I feel more alive and productive than ever before.  I’m not too tired to write; I have little interest in watching TV; and boxing up my life occupies most of time during the day.  Who would have thought that a person could have more energy by sleeping fewer hours, continuously moving, and eating only when hungry?

Isn’t it ironic?  Don’t ya think?

Leave a Reply

