1. I’m not a fan of New Year’s “resolutions”.

1. I’m not a fan of New Year’s “resolutions”.

I cringe whenever someone asks about a New Year’s resolution.  The whole “new year, new you” mentality lasts a whopping 7 days, and sometimes it doesn’t even kick start until January 2nd.  You’re nursing a hangover on January 1st.  Do you really feel able to drag that body away from the couch and Law and Order SVU marathon to head to the gym?  I didn’t think so.

I prefer to set goals for the next 365 days of my life.  Having start and end dates helps me realize these aren’t forever commitments; the finish line waits somewhere in the distance.  In 2012, I gave up sweets for the year.  This self-proclaimed sugar addict needed a real kick in the butt.  Guess what?  I made it!  Ok, almost made it.  I let myself enjoy the holiday sweets at the end of 2012, but all in all, I accomplished what I set out to do- take control!

In 2013, I joined my dad in limiting red meat for heath reasons.  Once again, this is something I wouldn’t have imagined doing ordinarily, but it’s now 2014 and I can honestly say I’m proud to eat more chicken and fish than anything else.  I can easily say “no” to a burger now even if it is my all time favorite food.

This year my goals are again to cut out sweets and also limit gluten from my diet.  I’ve learned I need to take more care of my digestive system even if it does require more work.

What are your 2014 goals?  Make them for you, no one else.  Make them count.  Make them achievable.  Make them last.  Commit to running a 5K every month like Denise did last year.  Aim to write a couple pages each day to get your creative juices flowing.  Paint a new painting once a month.  Whatever you do, go out and claim your life!

Happy New Year y’all!

One thought on “1. I’m not a fan of New Year’s “resolutions”.

Leave a Reply

